Nelson Cruz Wins Louisville Silver Slugger Award


Seattle Mariners right fielder Nelson Cruz has been selected to the 2015 American League Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger team.

The award is the first of Cruz’s career and the first Silver Slugger Award for the Mariners since Ichiro Suzuki in 2009. He joins Ken Griffey Jr. (7x) and Ichiro (3x) as the only Mariners outfielders to win the Award.

Cruz, 35, hit .302 (178×590) with 90 runs, 22 doubles, 1 triple, 44 home runs, 93 RBI, a .369 on-base percentage & .566 slugging percentage in 152 games. He was amongst American League leaders in home runs (44/2nd), slugging percentage (.566/3rd), OPS (.936/4th), multi-hit games (49/T11th), batting average (.302/8th), RBI (93/T12th), extra-base hits (67/T10th), go-ahead RBI (27/T5th) and game-winning RBI (14/T7th).

Nelson led the team in runs (90), home runs (44), RBI (93), walks (59), average (.302), on-base percentage (.369) & slugging percentage (.566) while setting career bests in runs (90), hits (178), home runs (44) and walks (59).

He became the first player since Miguel Cabrera (2012-2013) to record consecutive 40-homer seasons and the 53rd player with consecutive 40-HR seasons. His 17 home runs at Safeco Field this season were T4th-most in ballpark history. His 44 home runs tied the Mariners record for most home runs by a right-handed hitter (Jay Buhner, 44 in 1996).

Cruz was voted as the starting designated hitter for the American League, his 4th All-Star game selection (2009, 2013-2015) and second start (also: 2014).

Louisville Slugger’s Silver Slugger award winners were determined by a vote of Major League Baseball coaches and managers who vote for the players they felt were the best offensive producers at each position in both the American and National Leagues in 2015. Selections were based on a combination of offensive statistics including batting average, on-base percentage, and slugging percentage, as well as the coaches’ and managers’ general impressions of a player’s overall offensive value. Managers and coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their own team.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s